{Behind The Music}Dance Electronic Singer Songwriter Idzkan’s Passion for Inspiring People

IMG_0741

ARTIST BIO
Idzkan is an aspiring singer/songwriter from Johor Bahru Malaysia who is has a passion for His artistic vision is to connect to his audience with a mix of catchy hooks and a diverse experimental sound in the electronic pop dance genre.

His debut album “The Art of Love” will be out later this year with 11 year old executive producer, Dj Wizzy. Working on personal and collaborative albums over the past year, this creative team plans to focus on spreading positivity, self empowerment and fun to all of their fans.

Although Golf is a big part of this artists life, he made a decision to sacrifice the game to focus on an education and his music. Singing has always been his passion but he was missing that songwriting element to complete the dream. After being introduced to the world of producing music by his UK producer mate, he started to gain interest and inspiration.

Jacqueline: How did you get your start in music?

Idzkan: I have always loved music since I was young but I didn’t get a chance to explore it because of my sport oriented family background. I was forced to get into golf at the age of 12 years old. It was a bad period for me but music kept me happy,  grabbing every  opportunity to perform at my school events. When my family moved to Australia at the age of 19, I started to mix around with a lot of music lovers. Studying was so stressful and music became my remedy. I met a guy who was a producer from London and we quickly became best friend because of our mutual interest. I would crash at his place while watching him produce his music and prepping for his DJ gigs. That is when I learn began to absorb the fundamentals of music production. At the time, I didn’t tell him that could sing. In fact, it wasn’t  until I posted my singing competition final round video on Youtube that he encouraged me to write my own songs- and my first song was born.  After writing about self-empowerment, I started to realize that I wanted to inspire people to be themselves and spread a positive message to the world. The window of inspiration straight away became wide open and the concept for my debut album was born.

Sadly, my friend had to go back to London so I was left without any producer but I had a lot of songs written down. I started to look for fellow musicians online and I manage to find a 10 years old musician Slovakia producer, Dj Wizzy. I contacted him after discovering his demo online and I really love it. That is the real start to my music career and he is now the executive producer for my debut album “The Art Of Love”.

Jacqueline: Pick one of your songs and tell me the story behind it. What’s it about? Is there a back story about how it was written or recorded?

Idzkan: One of my favorite songs from the album is “Chase Your Dreams” . The song is very meaningful to me because it is my source of strength and inspiration. The song is about striving for the best. I wrote this song 3 years ago and it is the fourth song that I have ever written. My life as a student, professional golfer and singer/songwriter can be very demanding and full of obstacles. When I started to write the song, I knew how special it was and I wanted a great production to amplify the message. Dj Wizzy did a great R&B production for it and we eventually release it as a single. It has generated a lot of positive reactions and people are being inspired by the song. Few months after the released, I had a vision for my album. I wanted the lyrics to be inspirational and the music to be experimental. I hooked up with Dj Wizzy again and told him about my new idea, coincidentally Dj Wizzy had a plan to produce an experimental album with “Chillstep” as the main genre. After a year, the new melodic dubstep version of “Chase Your Dreams’ was born and it sounds exactly how I have envisioned it.

Jacqueline: Tell me about one fun thing you like to do?

Idzkan: Coming from a mediocre town called Johor Bahru which is the most southern major city in Peninsular Malaysia, there’s not much music scene from what I know. Probably I don’t get out that much being stuck in my personal studio. haha. I do see lots of street performers in the city and they never stop to amaze me with their amazing talent. I’m a professional golfer as well, so most of my time is spent either on the golf course or in my studio working on my music.

Jacqueline: You guys have done a great job on social media keeping in touch with your fans. Have you found any challenges that you’ve had to overcome? Any technology that has helped?

Idzkan: Yes social media has been a great friend to us in terms of being a space where artists can actually communicate with our fans worldwide as well as share our artistic projects. There’s a lot of challenges because now you are basically a small fish in a huge sea so to be noticed by people can be a great challenge. I found that, #hashtagging trends has helped me a lot in terms being notice by the right people who may have an interest in my music.

Jacqueline: But even with social media… Why do you think it’s so hard for indie artists to break into the mainstream big markets?

Idzkan: Because there are so many inspiring indie artist like me who are out there trying to be noticed, creating a fan page is not enough. Being different would be the best bet to get exposure and attention but the best way is to get help from fellow bloggers or music promotion website.

Jacqueline: Every true artist has a creative journey they hope for, what is the legacy you want to leave? How do you want to be remembered for your music?

Idzkan: I want people to be proud of their own self realize that we are each born unique and special. These are the things that I want my music to leave as a footprint. I’ve embarked on this musical journey because I know what it feels like to be lost and have no self-esteem. Music has healed me and I want to be remembered as an artist who’s trying to bring out the best in people.

Jacqueline: Artists who seek to make their art a career often face challenges that question their sense of purpose and creativity.. What is your experience with negative energy? How do you remove the monetary value as a means of influence over or judgement of your art? Do you find that there is to much emphasis on the current market or Is there a balance that you have found helpful in your artistic decisions?

Idzkan: Yup, many times I was scared to be different because of what people might think of my music. They may consider it weird or freaky but in the end I wanted my art to be pure and authentically me.  Now I just disregard the fear and follow my instinct. I want to build a fan base that dare to be different and express their creative ideas to the world. In order to achieve that, I have to take the risk of not thinking about the backlash or the monetary outcome of my decision.

Jacqueline: Are you religious? Do you believe in fate? (Whatever is meant for you will come your way?) Do you believe that if you think positively and imagine yourself being that person, living a certain way or enjoying something you’ve always wanted you can bring it to you.

Idzkan: I’m not super religious but I do believe in sharing the happiness and doing good things to people so our life will have some sort of meaning or purpose. I believe totally in fate and good fate will occur if we have a pure heart that is filled with good intentions. That’s what I called the law of attraction. When I was little, I always imagined having my own songs and I can hear the beat faintly in my ears because that’s part of my dream. True enough, I achieve it just because I couldn’t stop thinking about it.

Jacqueline: What are you thankful for?

Idzkan: I’m thankful with everything that I have right now. My great family who never stop believing in me and giving me support even when everything seems impossible and hopeless. I’m super blessed that I have great friends who are more than my family. I have been living in a few different countries in order to become a better person education wise and sharpen my golf skills. Every time I make friends they always become my close ones who tends to change my perspective towards life. For example, when I was living with Germans, I thought I could never mix around with them but something special happened and a great bond called The Germalaysian friendship was born. These are some of the unexpected events that have given me inspiration for my upcoming debut album “The Art Of Love” .  I’m thankful to have people around me who love me the way I am.

Jacqueline: Where do you hope to see yourself in 5 years?

Idzkan: I would love to go on a music tour all around the world to share my artistic vision to everyone as well as becoming a competitive professional golfer in the major tour. I want to prove to the world that I can be a musician as well as a high level sportsman just by having the right attitude and mentality.

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Idzkan/253739124700391

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/idzkan

YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/idzkan

New Single Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iKdDeiBCFiE

