The A.V.A Live Radio: How to Brand and Market your name using Search engine keywords, adwords, and facebook

AVA_Facebook_Jacqueline_JaxTune into the show now:
blogtalkradio.com/avaliveradio/2014/01/24/ava-liveradio-how-to-brand-your-name-using-adwords-facebook-search-engines

Join host Jacqueline Jax as she gives you the hard truth about branding your name online using adwords, facebook and search engines. with questions answered from our audience.

Q: Benni Chawes – Website: http://www.chawes.net
I just listen to you on youtube “Choosing a Successful Brand Name”. Thanks a lot for sharing your wisdom!!! I’m REALLY in big doubt about my name….!!!
It’s absolutely special ‘Benni Chawes’ but gets misspelled a lot let alone mispronounced.
I’m a danish singer/piano player. I do jazz/soul/pop idiom (www.chawes.net) and have been using that (birth) name for 8+ years now. I think I’m cutting of potential fans – or at least not getting out there as much as I could with that name. And that’s a shame – I LOOOOVE performing and sharing my music with them. When ever I perform world wide in all modesty people really love what I’m doing 🙂
I also incorporate my vocal instruments into the show. With my voice I sound like the true guitar, drums, bass, and percussion.
I released an album (late 2006), have toured in 20+ countries, sponsored by prestigious Bang & Olufsen as the first musician ever, won awards and have opened up for Ray Charles. Can you guide me? How do I go about this? Help…!!!!! 🙂
Thanks for reading all this 😉
Bless you. Benni

A: First let me say thank you for tuning in and I’m really glad you asked this question. Our name is something we all agonize over especially when things don’t take off as quickly as anticipated. Here are a few things you should consider moving forward.

1) since this is your birth name no one can ever prevent you from using it even if they trademark it and unusual names can be great for search engine listings. If no one else has a name close to yours, then it should be pretty easy for you to command your spot in the searches and control what information represents you especially if you are able to own your domain, facebook, twitter, linkedin, and other social media versions as well.

2) because your name is unusual, you will have to work on branding it to your audience. By branding I mean saying your name allowed often via interviews, video, podcasts, sound bites, etc. Also use your name in your logo and use it on every photo you release even on Instagram to imprint it further. For instance I always say my complete name in everything that I do and I rarely shorten or abbreviate.. “Jacqueline Jax” so people now call me by my my first and last name and as a result of all this branding over a few years, I am totally commanding my own name in the searches.

3) consider buying common misspelling .coms if you think it’s being done often and redirect those .coms to your web site. Also be sure to get all social media platforms in your name as they come out even if you don’t use them now, it helps to prevent competition before hand or fake profiles from being created. I also love the fact that many social media platforms command high search rankings if you update your page often, so make sure your content is streaming to those places as well.

4) Own it! Take pride in the name you’ve chosen and embrace it. If you appreciate it for the original reasons you selected the name, your customers and followers will also. You just have to find ways to connect the name to your product. You can do that with an image, tag lines, and content. Think about it, who would have thought that Pepsi or Shakira would have been memorable, now everyone knows it and recognizes the name and the product/ persons music.

Q: Is GoogleAdwords the best way to go? Or is there something better? Amy- Ohio
A: It will vary depending upon what type of website you have, what your target market is, and what you’re selling. Some businesses have great success with AdWords. For others, Facebook or Bing have shown better financial results. As with any advertising champagne be prepared because there is always a chance that your Pay Per click campaigns won’t be profitable at all? There are just to many factors that can effect your results so a trial and error period is necessary. When I first started promoting my clothing line on the web, I used Pay-per-click and found that my advertising budget got used up quickly with no sales conversions. Sure I got some traffic but what good do that do if I didn’t see any sales. I think it’s a numbers game, if you have a viral product then perhaps pay-per-click is something that can get you to the masses but new companies and music artists should beware of the cost verses the reward here. It’s a numbers game, if you don’t have lots of dollars to spend, use them on something else that will get the word out and leave an impression. The best advice I can offer, is test it for yourself on facebook before starting a campagne. Create several approaches and place them up during the morning, afternoon and evening with an image and see what sticks. Keep track of the likes, follow through rate and comments to see what works best for your products or service. Then once you have something that tests well, use that add or formula to create more. I’m still a fan of building true relationships over time and the loyalty that comes with caring about the customers you have rather than the anonymous numbers your hoping to attract. In other words, it’s about quality customers rather than quantity.

Q: How can I get the right customers to my website ? Tim – Australia
A: Attracting customers online has a lot to do with search engines. I would suggest creating a list of keywords to aim for. Cut down the # of keywords to target your quest. When you go out and try to rank for to many keywords you get lost. I suggest to start out with 5-7 keywords that you can rank for. To do this you want to use a tool like Google Keyword Planner which is free. Jot down a few of your keywords to see what the search results are. If they are to high (meaning lots of people search for it) then the competition to get to page 1 will take a longer time (and more money) where as something that gets smaller search results (but still brings targeted traffic) can be done sooner for less money. You also need to be aware that things like this are not done overnight. You’ve got to understand who your competitors are and what they are already doing. Once you know what they do to be on page 1 you do the same but better and smarter. Also remember like I said before, even if you bring in the traffic it does not guarantee any sales. Your website now has to reach out to them and make it easy and trustworthy for a new customer to buy. Another reason I like pursuing quality relationships rather than quantity of hit. You may want to show more of who is behind the scenes of your products. Meaning put up some pictures of the actual staff, you creating or how you perfect your craft. Make it easy for customers to see the price savings so they feel your prices are great as well. Since everything has already been done in some way before, you really need to be different and also have a MAJOR social media networker. Be innovative in putting yourself out there. Your website has to speak volumes to the traffic that visits and must convey honesty, trust and that you know your industry. It must look professional and accurately convey your brands message upon first glance with a fast page loading time and clarity. Otherwise they will just go to the big brands who they already trust and those hits won’t convert into sales.

Thanks for tuning in. If you have comments or questions, ask them here and I’ll answer them on the next show. Don’t forget to subscribe and hit the “like” and “share” button if this was helpful.

Submit a question here:

